I was so excited to receive the Filmstar Bronze and Glow from Charlotte Tilbury this past Christmas. I have wanted this product for years and couldn’t quite believe I was holding it in my hands as I opened it. Since this is a product I have hyped up for all the years I have wanted it for, I decided to review this and let you guys know if it is worth the price tag.

First up, I need to talk about the packaging! It is totally stunning and even more beaut in person. Anything rose gold I am totally drawn to and I feel chic whenever I use this in my makeup routine. I think the outer design makes me think of old Hollywood with an art deco kinda design, which reflects the name. It has a nice weight to it, but isn’t too heavy that would make it inconvenient to travel with. The outer packaging is made of metal which feels more special and expensive than plastic. It is slim and sleek and there is no wasted space inside the compact.

img_9516

Now onto the products inside… I have the Filmstar Bronze and Glow in Light/Medium and I think the tones of the bronzer and highlighter are really flattering on my skin tone. The bronzer is a good neutral medium bronze tone and has a slight satin sheen that gives you a healthy bronzed look. It is the perfect balance of pigmented but not too pigmented which means you can build this up but never over do it. Despite the sheen in this powder, I still feel like I can use this as a contour as well as a bronzer and it gives a more natural, yet defined contoured effect. The highlighter is a gorgeous pale champagne with a slight gold tone and adds the most ethereal, flattering glow. This highlighter is somewhere in between lit-from-within and blinding, but is still build-able so you can customise you glow from sheer to glowing goddess!

img_9599
Swatches L-R: Bronzer and Highlighter

Both the highlighter and bronze/contour powders are really finely milled, creamy, blend-able with a build-able formula. Whatever brush I use with these products, I am amazed that they almost blend themselves with minimal effort. I find them to last pretty well on my skin without setting spray (obviously the use of a setting spray prolongs the wear of all my makeup) and the products fade in a flattering way. Like all Charlotte Tilbury products I have tried, the quality is truly reflected in the higher price tag. I can see this product becoming an all time fave for bronzer/contour and highlighting for sure.

You get a lot of product in this compact too, before I had this, I thought it was 12g for both products as the total grams, but the bronzer is 12.5g and the highlighter has 10g – which makes this product really good value when you consider the quality and the packaging too.

I hope you guys found this review helpful, I had high expectations of this because it has been on my wish list for so long, but it really impressed me beyond expectation. It is also available in a Medium/Dark option, which is great that not just one skin tone is considered. If you are thinking about picking this up and have wanted it for as long as I have, I say take the plunge. The whole experience of applying and wearing it is such a pleasure and the bronzer and highlighter both really work to give you that natural yet defined, glowing goddess look. I think this kit is perfect for anyone who loves to contour and highlight but doesn’t want to go through a lot of effort and wants to look naturally defined rather than Insta-glam/KKW snatched. This is quickly becoming a staple for me and I can’t stop myself from using it, I 100% recommend this to anyone and everyone!