Hey all! Hope you have enjoyed my Drugstore Week posts so far, I have been loving writing them! Today’s post is all about Drugstore Products that act/perform like a high end product. I wasn’t sure if I had any amazing dupes for you guys that I could talk about, so I thought instead I will talk you through products that perform so well, I can’t quite believe the low price tag. I have seen Mariah Leonard do this before and really wanted to give it a go!

IMG_4366

  • Maybelline Fit Me, Matte and Poreless Powder – For someone who has dry skin, I usually steer clear of matte products because it can be too drying for me. But I was so intrigued by the fact that his powder creates a poreless effect since I have never tried a powder with this claim. When I swatched it in store it felt so soft and finely milled, which I didn’t expect from the drugstore so I knew I had to try it. I have only be using this for about a week but I am so impressed by this! It can get a bit cakey, but I use a light layer just to set, I tend to use it on my T-Zone and around my nose rather than under my eyes for this reason, if you have oily skin – I bet you’d love this! But it really does make a difference to my pores and makeup longevity. The way this performs definitely rivals more expensive options, I think its great that the drugstore offers a powder that blurs pores and sets your makeup well.
  • Tanya Burr Cosmetics Birthday Suit Eyeshadow Palette – I love Tanya’s eyeshadow quality, I think they are some of the best at the drugstore and this is one of the only drugstore eyeshadow palettes I own. The shades are perfect, can be made really natural and everyday or made to be more intense for a more bronze-smokey eye. I think the quality rivals those of higher-end eyeshadow palettes, the pigment and blendablity is so good! Even the shimmer shades aren’t chunky and glittery like a lot of cheaper eyeshadows, which I think it so impressive! They also last as well as my high-end eyeshadows do which is why I love them so much! There are so many palettes that she offers, you’re bound to find shades for you.
  • NYX Angel Veil  Primer – I haven’t really tried or liked a drugstore primer in the past, but when I heard Kathleen Lights talking about this (she is the source of a lot of my makeup purchases) I knew I had to give it a shot. I was a little nervous because I don’t tend to gravitate towards primer with this consistency, but I gave it a go anyway. This primer really does a good job of filling in my pores and creating an amazing base for my makeup, I couldn’t believe it! It smoothes everything out in a non-drying way which I really liked and appreciated, having dry skin. It also prolongs the wear time of my makeup amazingly well, I couldn’t quite believe it! I prefer to tap this in rather than rub, to avoid aggravating my dry patches and it works amazingly well with this application! I have heard that this is a dupe for the Hourglass Mineral Veil, so maybe check the NYX one out first and save some (I mean, a lot of money!)
  • Tanya Burr Lipsticks – I know, I know, I always mention this, but I can’t get enough of them! I won’t go on about them too much since I have mentioned them so much recently (here and here )They are by far the best lipsticks I have ever tried! The formula is moisturising, long lasting, pigmented and creamy – everything I want in a lipstick! I always reach for these over my more expensive lipsticks as well, which I think says something! The packaging also makes the lipsticks look so much more luxurious and expensive with the metallic gold packaging, they are also heavy as well, making them feel more special and chic than the price tag would imply.
  • Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter – I thought it only made sense to include MUR because their whole brand image is based on bringing amazing quality to consumers at a low price point. These highlighters are no joke – they are super blinding, everyone will know you’re wearing it! I would compare the pigment and consistency to theBalm’s Mary Lou but the Makeup Revolution highlighters are slightly more metallic and have a slight (very slight) glitteryness to them, but its not noticeable when its on the face! They last a good time on the skin and catch the light in such a flattering way. They are some of the better highlight formula’s I have tried at the drugstore for sure!

I hope you guys like this post! Are there any products that you have tried that are affordable but you think the quality is up there with the more expensive brands? I would love to know your thoughts or recommendations! See you tomorrow for another day of Drugstore Week! πŸ˜€

