I am half way through my degree now. Now there’s a terrifying thought! Not only is the work getting harder, but my future is getting closer and closer and that is freaking me out. I am getting tired of the “What are your plans after uni?” type of questions, because I really don’t know what I am doing with my life. I am at uni because I have a passion and love for my subject, I don’t even know if I want to work in the media sector. I would love to work in social media and marketing, but with lack of experience in this area, I know its a competitive industry and is hard to break into, so I’m not I’m feeling super optimistic! 

With a lack of motivation or plan for the future, it has made me feel unmotivated for my degree to some extent. I love university life and the classes, but I am struggling with the independent study, A LOT. I just can’t get into the right mindset for reading or for doing tasks that I need to do for my seminars. I mean right now I am procrastinating by writing this post! Its so frustrating because I was so pumped at the start of second year and the first term went really well in terms of my assessments, and you’d think this would be really motivating for this term but… NO! I want so badly to be super hardworking and ready to do work all day, everyday but this just isn’t happening. I have never really had big issues with motivating myself in self-study but for some reason, this term has completely changed that. I think its so strange because I love the modules I am studying, I just have fallen off the motivation train. Maybe if I work on a new routine, that might help. But that takes time and I don’t really have that!

I feel so stressed about how much work I am expected to do this term, that I can’t give 100% and do my best. It is so hard to shift this unmotivated mindset. I don’t want to do work whilst feeling like complete crap, so I end up not doing anything and then I end up being majorly behind on my work each week because I’m not on top of things at all. I mean I know university is supposed to be tough, but the difference between first and second year is HUGE! I’m not looking forward to my third year at all, and that will be here soon enough. Second year is scary as it is because every assessment counts towards my degree and I want to do the best I can and not waste this opportunity that I have been bless with.

I am totally grateful that I am able to go to university and that I am studying something that I enjoy and love. I just need a mindset change. If anyone has any tips on how to motivate yourself and how to strike the right level of work and relaxation please let me know, I would be forever thankful!

Sorry for the ramble post, I just needed to get this off my chest! This week I’m aiming to get back into and routine, allowing myself time to work and having a schedule to get back on top of things!  I’ll be sure to keep you updated on how I’m getting on, here’s to a (hopefully) successful week! 

