This year I decided to make my own birthday cake! I wanted to try making a vegan cake because I wanted to introduce my family to the plant based lifestyle in a non-scary way for them! I have never made a big cake before but it was so easy and went so well! I used this recipe here, it was a good one because I didn’t need to purchase many other ingredients because it was like a basic cake recipe with some ingredients swaps!

I used this recipe here! It was so fuss free and didn’t require lots of hard to access ingredients, which is what drew me to it originally. It tasted so yummy and it tasted even better because it was homemade by me.

16107672_1579108208771623_244732300_o
The reason it looks quite dark is because it has golden syrup in – its not burnt! 

I love the way it turned out, I need to work on my decorating skills, but I am sure that will come with practise! I can’t wait to give more plant based recipes a go!

 

