Just to say, sorry that it has been so long since my last post. I recently started uni, so life has been really busy lately. But whilst I eat my microwave roast dinner (student life) I thought I would write about my experience of uni so far…

So I started at the University of Sussex on September 13th and this last week has been Fresher’s week (I officially started uni Sept. 21st). For those of you who aren’t familiar with what Fresher’s is, it’s a week full of welcome events and clubbing nights, as well as other activities for the new students. There are loads of opportunities to meet new people and hang out before you start your degree.

For someone who isn’t keen on clubbing at all, I was particularly nervous about Fresher’s because it seemed to be all about getting drunk and going on cheap nights out, and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to make any friends. But when I got there, I realised that there was plenty of other ways to meet new people, that didn’t involve going out every night!

There were plenty of events on during the week, like subject talks, where you could meet people from your degree before starting the week after. The good thing about everyone being in the same situation as you is that everyone is super friendly and approachable, and is keen to meet new people.

My flat mates are all lovely, I was worried that I was gonna be stuck with people I couldn’t get on with for the year. They are also really understanding about the fact that I’m not a clubbing kind of girl and luckily when they came home in the early hours of the morning they were quiet, which is  always appreciated!

Another way to meet people is through clubs and societies, there is literally so much on offer, you’re bound to find something you are interested. It was pretty manic at the society fayre so I only joined a couple of societies but I am happy with that.  I have already been to a society meeting (the student newspaper), and I have already met so many nice people. I can’t wait till one of my pieces are featured in the near future, well fingers crossed anway!

I’m not sure what else to say about this past week other than it went super quickly! I have already made quite a few friends so student life is a lot less daunting than when I first got here! What are your experiences of university? I would love to know!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Lizzy ☺

